20 great quotes about filmmaking

24 Jul

1. “I think audiences get too comfortable and familiar in today’s movies. They believe everything they’re hearing and seeing. I like to shake that up.”
– Christopher Nolan

 

2. “If a Million People See My Movie, I Hope They See a Million Different Movies.”
– Quentin Tarantino

 

3. “If there’s specific resistance to women making movies, I just choose to ignore that as an obstacle for two reasons: I can’t change my gender, and I refuse to stop making movies.”
– Kathryn Bigelow

 

4. “You see so many movies… the younger people who are coming from MTV or who are coming from commercials and there’s no sense of film grammar. There’s no real sense of how to tell a story visually. It’s just cut, cut, cut, cut, cut, you know, which is pretty easy.”
– Peter Bogdanovich

5. “I’m a storyteller – that’s the chief function of a director. And they’re moving pictures, let’s make ‘em move!”
– Howard Hawks

 

6. “Casting is 65 percent of directing.”
– John Frankenheimer

 

7. “Cinema should make you forget you are sitting in a theater.”
– Roman Polanski

 

8. “A director must be a policeman, a midwife, a psychoanalyst, a sycophant and a bastard.”
– Billy Wilder

 

9. “In England, I’m a horror movie director. In Germany, I’m a filmmaker. In the US, I’m a bum.”
– John Carpenter

 

10. “My movie is born first in my head, dies on paper; is resuscitated by the living persons and real objects I use, which are killed on film but, placed in a certain order and projected on to a screen, come to life again like flowers in water.”
– Robert Bresson

11. “The wide screen reminds me of a roll of toilet paper.”
-Yasujiro Ozu

 

12. “I like tits and ass. Mostly tits.”
– Paul Verhoeven

 

13. “The enemy of art is the absence of limitations.”
– Orson Welles

 

14. “Films are always pretentious. There’s nothing more pretentious than a filmmaker.”
– John Milius

 

15. “Censors Tend to Do What Only Psychotics Do: They Confuse Reality With Illusion.”
– David Cronenberg

16. “A film is – or should be – more like music than like fiction. It should be a progression of moods and feelings. The theme, what’s behind the emotion, the meaning, all that comes later.”
– Stanley Kubrick

 

17. “All I Need to Make a Comedy is a Park, a Policeman and a Pretty Girl.”
– Charlie Chaplin

 

18. “I couldn’t sleep one night and I was sitting in my office and I realized that I was an independent filmmaker.”
– Darren Aronofsky

 

19. “A Film is a Petrified Fountain of Thought.”
– Jean Cocteau

20. “Every edit is a lie.”
– Jean-Luc Godard

tintascreenplay.com

Leave a Reply

