21 great quotes about screenwriting

26 Nov

1. “There is only one plot-things are not what they seem.”

– Jim Thompson

 

2. “Everything I’ve written is personal- it’s the only way I know how to write.”

– Charlie Kaufman

 

3. “I could be just a writer very easily. I am not a writer. I am a screenwriter, which is half a filmmaker….But it is not an art form, because screenplays are not works of art. They are invitations to others to collaborate on a work of art.”   

– Paul Schrader

4. “When I was sixteen or seventeen, I wanted to be a writer. I wanted to be a playwright But everything I wrote, I thought was weak. and I can remember falling asleep in tears because I had no talent the way I wanted to have.”

– Francis Ford Coppola

 

5. “Being a good writer is 3% talent, 97% not being distracted by the internet.” 

– Unknown

 

6. “I love fantasy. I love horror. I love musicals. Whatever doesn’t happen in real life is what I’m interested in. as a way of commenting on everything that does happen in life, because ultimately the only thing I’m really interested is people.”

– Joss Whedon

 

7. “We’ve all been burned by bad feedback. Rude, insensitive, bossy, arrogant, wrong-headed, cruel even.”                      

– Julie Gray

 

8. “The screenplay is the child not only of its mother, the silent film, but also of its father, the drama.”                                 

– Terrence Rattigan

 

9. “Screenwriting is an opportunity to fly first class, be treated like a celebrity, sit around the pool and be betrayed.”

– Ian McEwan

 

10. “I don’t think screenplay writing is the same as writing- I mean, I think it’s blue printing.”                                                      

– Robert Altman

 

11. “Writing is a marathon, not a sprint.”

– Robert McKee

 

12. “One of the big things you have learn is who to listen and when; and you can’t listen to everybody.”

Amy Holden Jones

 

13. Scriptwriting is the toughest part of the whole racket…the least understood and the least noticed.”

-Frank Capra

 

14. “It is better to write a bad first draft than to write no first draft at all.”

– Will Shetterly

15. “But George and Steven asked me to write the Indiana Jones sequels, and I didn’t want to.”

– Lawrence Kasdan

 

16. “The most ordinary word, when put into place, suddenly acquires brilliance. That is the brilliance with which your images must shine.”

– Robert Bresson

 

17. “Screenwriting is the most prized of all the cinematic arts. actually, it isn’t, but it should be.”

– Hugh Laurie

 

18. “People are going to laugh at your attempt to write a really romantic scene. So what can you do to protect yourself? You can shock people…”

Andrew Kevin Walker

19. “Trust your own instinct. Your mistakes might as well be your own, instead of someone else’s.”

– Billy Wilder

 

20. “The easiest thing to do on earth is not to write.”

– William Goldman

 

21. “I think about the audience in the sense that I serve as my own audience. I have to please myself that way, if I saw the movie in theatre, I would be pleased. Do I think about catering to an audience? No.”

– Shane Black

 

tintascreenplay.com

One Response to “21 great quotes about screenwriting”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 21 Great Quotes Featuring: Kasdan, Coppola, Whedon, Altman, Kaufman, Goldman & More | The Screenwriting Spark - January 6, 2014

    […] is a fantastic collection of screenwriting quotes compiled at Gasoline Sky.  Among my […]

Leave a Reply

